Starting College
Notice: This is an update post. :)
I was recently given the opportunity to register for classes at my local community college for the first time. So I did. The classes start soon and a goal of mine is to write how that first week goes. But for now, I figured I could list some of the "tough stuff" I had to do to get registered. I have always found life to be a little overwhelming, but then would jump in headfirst and practically drown myself. On the other hand, I have also completely withdrawn in the face of something entirely benign. You could say I have anxiety or you could same I'm normal.
I had to apply for admission to the college.
This one was fairly simple. You go online and fill out an application. I happened to be at the college when I did it, and a nice faculty member helped me, but it wasn't super overwhelming.
I had to get my high school transcript.
This was not very difficult for me per se, but in general, it can be. It can go a couple of ways. If you're lucky, the college can request your transcript from your high school. Mine did not. In that case, you have to request it yourself... by calling your high school. At that point, the high school will explain to you their particular process. I had to go online to a completely random website and pay to have mine mailed to me (much like a birth certificate). Different schools, different rules, so each individual will have unique steps in this process.
I had to take an assessment test.
This was much more stressful for me. Test anxiety is real. And you know what, I am probably gonna piss you off. I took it very quickly and barely passed every portion on my first time without studying. To be fair, I prayed to the gods for help and they came through, but that may not be the same for you. I was on a time crunch due to when I applied and didn't have time to study. Even though I did a miracle doesn't mean I recommend it. I highly recommend taking your time, studying, and making sacrifices to whatever entity you worship.
I applied for financial aid early.
In fact, I have every year since I graduated high school and I took a three-year break. It's really simple. You fill out some stuff on the FAFSA website and hope you have dead beat parents. Also, don't forget to apply for scholarships if you need them.
I studied the course catalog.
I did this to see what was available once I was approved to register as well as to help me pick my program of study (which in my state, I have to do to get financial aid). I decided to study a program that veered in the interests I am already aware of as well as completing my core curriculum in 60 hours. There are a couple more things I had to do, but in reality, that was about it. Everything else had to do with my personal journey. Although when checking my email today, I saw a paid peer/mentor offer from my college, so my experience may involve more than just studying.
Comments
Post a Comment